Recent Match Report – BDESH WMN vs IND WMN 1st T20I 2023

Toss India chose to bowl vs Bangladesh

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur called correctly and elected to field in the opening T20I against Bangladesh in Mirpur.

There were a number of changes to the playing XI from the last time India were in action in a T20I. For starters, they have two debutants – Andhra’s Anusha Bareddy and Kerala allrounder Minnu Mani. Yastika Bhatia was set to take the wicketkeeping gloves as Richa Ghosh was not picked for this tour.

Mani was part of the Delhi Captials side in the Women’s Premier League [WPL] while 20-year-old Bareddy was with the India A squad that won the Women’s Emerging Cup Asia Cup last month.

There are the usual suspects at the top of the batting order for India, with Smriti Mandhana and Shafali Varma, while Pooja Vastrakar will lead the pace bowling unit.

Bangladesh also handed a debut to 25-year-old opening batter Shathi Rani, who was part of the Bangladesh A squad at the Emerging Asia Cup.

India 1 Smriti Mandhana, 2 Shafali Verma, 3 Jemimah Rodrigues, 4 Harmanpreet Kaur (capt.), 5 Harleen Deol, 6 Yastika Bhatia (wk), 7 Pooja Vastrakar 8 Deepti Sharma 9 Amanjot Kaur, 10 Anushka Bareddy, 11 Minnu Mani

Bangladesh 1 Nigar Sultana (capt & wk), 2 Salma Khatun, 3 Shamima Sultana, 4 Nahida Akter, 5 Ritu Moni, 6 Shorna Akter, 7 Marufa Akter, 8 Sobhana Mostary, 9 Shathi Rani, 10 Sultana Khatun, 11 Rabeya Khan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *